The Next Generation of Speech-Language
Pathologists and Audiologists

Donate to the Michigan Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation today to help fund Scholarships!

Congratulations to the 2021 Michigan-Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation Scholarship Recipient!

Lauren Denti,
Wayne State University Doctorate
of Audiology Program


Spotlight On:  Lucy Finkel


Pictured here l-r: Lucy Finkel and Laura Lenkey.

Interview with Lucy Finkel, M.A.,  Graduate Student in Speech-Language Pathology at Grand Valley State University

Why did you chose this profession?  As cheesy as it may sound, I believe this profession chose me. If you had asked me even 5 years ago, I would have had no idea that speech-language pathology would be in my professional trajectory. My Bachelor's and Master's degrees are in vocal performance and truly that was all I ever wanted to do - until about 8 years ago when I realized that the starving artist life was not for me. I genuinely had no idea who I was anymore as I had invested so much time and energy into being a musician. So I took some time to reconnect with myself, developed a yoga practice and became an instructor. I became a certified licensed massage therapist and in a lot of ways I was very fulfilled except, something was missing. My voice. I needed to incorporate my love of this instrument with helping others. A friend suggested speech pathology and a light bulb went off over my head! I got into the Master's program at Grand Valley and for the first time in a long time, I feel like I am with the right people, doing the right thing. Totally worth the long, strange journey to get here. 

What are your particular interests in this field? My interests are Voice - vocal health and therapy as well as rehabilitation of individuals post traumatic brain injury. Outside of voice, I enjoy running, hiking, travel and reading. 

Where are you from?  Born and raised in Lansing, Michigan but I currently live in Grand Rapids. 

Have there been any surprises along the way? Constantly! This is a vast and ever-changing field which makes it absolutely thrilling! 

What were your impressions of the MSHA Conference?  I so appreciated the opportunity to learn from and work side-by-side in sessions with professionals within our field. Additionally, I considered it to be a tremendous experience to be exposed to some of the most brilliant experts in the field there as presenters. Such an amazing learning opportunity for young, green clinicians to learn and grow beyond the classroom. 
More Student Interviews

Other Ways to Get Involved

Join the Board

MSHF Board Members, past and present, Kalamazoo 2018:  l-r back row standing: Aaron Hardy-Smith, Dawn Kutney, Derek Daniels; front row l-r: Kathy Rigley, Tamara Baubie, Judy Silverman, and Ellen Fairbrother.

MSHF Board members meet at the MSHA Conference in Troy, 2017:  l-r: Tamara Baubie, Heather Balog, Karen O'Leary, Aar Hardy-Smith, and Derek Daniels.

MSHF Board Members 2015 a
t Lansing
l-r, front: Fran Eldis, Derek Daniels, Heather Balog, Tamara Baubie, Laura Billetdeaux, Anitta Orr, and Ellen Fairbrother.
l-r, back: Aaron Hardy-Smith, Liz Stevens, Karen O'Leary, Dawn Kutney, and Rick Merson.

Annual Conference

MSHF Award Recipients 2016:                                                                                             MSHF 2017 Scholarship Recipients Justin Gripentrog and Elise Drager, Graduate Students at WMU



2018 MSHF Silent Auction Items:


Connect With Us

While Donating is a great way to get involved, we'd be nowhere without the wonderful people in this industry.  Join us on your favorite social media outlet, sign up for our newsletter, or send us an old fashioned email!  We would love to hear from you!

You've Already Helped...

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2020

Nafia Khan, Eastern Michigan University
Luke Shepherd, Central Michigan University
Elizabeth King, Wayne State University
Stephanie Nagy, Michigan State University
Alexandra Winegar, Central Michigan University
Abby McConnon, Central Michigan University

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2019:

Jaimee Blahaski, Eastern Michigan University
Danae Brownell, Michigan State University
Elizabeth Kaurich, Wayne State University
Brionna Leach and Kayla Welker, Central Michigan University
Carolyn Mooi, Western Michigan University

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2018:

Sarah Kourtjian and Brian McTaggart, Western  Michigan University;
Loris Yoon and Nafia Khan, Eastern Michigan University;
Ally Whitman and Claire Hug, Central Michigan University
Corie Ruiter and Kaleigh Cammenga, Michigan State University;
Vanessa Duri, Kelly Quin, Samantha Kestleloot-Carlton and Marla Wilcox, Wayne State University (who matches); and
Lucy Finkel and Erin Hawkins, Grand valley State University.

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2017:
Elise Patricia Drager (AUD) and Justin Arik Gripentrog (SLP), Graduate Students at Western Michigan University;
Bridget Salvia, (SLP) Graduate Student at Eastern Michigan University; 
Lindsay Bitterman (AUD) and Jordan McCarthy (SLP), Graduate Students at Central Michigan University; 
Caleb Wilson  (SLP) and Gabriella Gilfoy, (SLP) Graduate Students at Michigan State University (who has matched funds);
Kimberly Brief (SLP), Katie Stevenson (AUD), Christine Forrest (SLP),  and Claire Miller (AUD), Graduate Students at Wayne State University (who has matched funds);  
Kelsey Hines (SLP), Graduate Student at Grand Valley State University.
MSHF Honorable Mention Awards: 
Sara Acton, M.A., (SLP) Graduate Student at Eastern Michigan University; and Corynn Marchesi, B.A., (SLP) Graduate Student at Central Michigan University.

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2016:
Ellen Foltz (AUD) and Laura Kobylczyk (SLP),
Central Michigan University         
Arista May (SLP) and Annette Shiley (SLP),
Eastern Michigan University
Shelby Garbini (SLP) and Julie Marcel (SLP),
Grand Valley State University

Alyssa Webster (SLP) and Rachel Nordbeck (SLP), Michigan State University
Angela Piccinato (AUD) and Shelby Swafford (SLP), Wayne State University
Thomas Beebe (AUD) and Karen Murawski (SLP), Western Michigan University

MSHF Scholarship Recipients 2015:
Blaire Brown (SLP), Samantha  Kliman (SLP),  Lauren Kassa (AUD) and Lisa DeHondt (AUD)
Wayne State University (WSU matched these funds);
Kaitlyn  Marie Ayres (SLP) and Bridget Marie Molnar (SLP), Michigan State University;
Jaclyn Rowlett (AUD) and Erin Thomas (SLP), Central Michigan University;  
Caitlin Montague (SLP), Grand Valley State University;
Tess Donner (SLP) and Travis Stehouwer, (AUD) Western Michigan University;
Caren Gorga (SLP), Eastern Michigan University

Past Recipients:
Wayne State University

Allison Farat (SLP), Sarah Hunter (SLP), Mary Kassa (AUD), Zachary Zells (AUD)
Michigan State University
Dana Flowerday (SLP), Anna Hardenbergh (SLP)
Grand Valley State University
Adam Gray (SLP), Justine Koglin (SLP)
Western Michigan University
Alissa Haan (AUD), Ann Lamons (SLP)
Eastern Michigan University
Angela Jouel Truesdell-Smith (SLP)
Central Michigan University
Stefanie Gainor (AUD), Amanda Bruski ( SLP)
See Past Scholarship Recipients

With your help we have been able to grant scholarships yearly to two speech-language pathology and/or audiology graduate students at each of the six state universities which offer speech-language pathology and/or audiology programs:Central Michigan University, Eastern Michigan University, Grand Valley State University, Michigan State University, Wayne State University, and Western Michigan University...

Read More